Open Play at Little Beans Cafe

by Julie

Little Beans Logo

A few months ago, we attended a Mommy and Me Yoga class at Little Beans. You might remember me saying that it was more play, and less exercise. We didn’t have an opportunity to enjoy the open play facility at Little Beans, but it has always been on my radar as something I would like to try.

After being stuck inside for 3 days thanks to the polar vortex that hit Chicago, Will and I were ready for a change in scenery. Therefore, a couple of girls from NPN and their little ones met me at Little Beans on Wednesday afternoon. This turned out to be a great time to go, because there were probably 10 kids total in the whole facility.

little-beans-cafe

Crawlers are designated to a small fenced-in area, which felt crowded with 4 moms and 4 babies. First thing I had to do when we got in the crawlers area was make a pathway through the mass of toys. Second thing I had to do was move some random wet clothes (gross!).

Even though most of the toys were out of batteries (I’m so over plastic toys!), Will still had a blast rummaging through every toy in the play area. I have to admit, I was a little envious of the other moms sitting at the cafe tables, sipping their latte’s and watching their older kids play in the walkers section, while I sat on a rubber mat, surrounded by toys that have had a little too much love.

Will standing up at Little Beans

Will playing at Little Beans

Finally, the sign on the crawlers section that is supposed to keep walkers out, is not enforced, which makes the play space feel even smaller. My final verdict: avoid this place until you have a walker.

P.S I looked into this place for a potential 1st birthday party space for Will. Who knew that a kid’s birthday party could cost $550-$1,000! I think our house will do!

Location: 1809 West Webster

Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m-6:00 p.m

Parking: Free parking lot

Price Range: $$

*** It’s Okay

Enhanced by Zemanta