Back-up Baby Meals

by Julie

The fridge is empty again, and I really don’t want to go the grocery store for the 3rd time this week. What am I supposed to make Will for breakfast, lunch, and dinner?

Luckily, I always keep non-perishable back-up meals in the freezer and pantry. I know, I know…they aren’t as healthy as fresh fruits, vegetables, and proteins, but they are perfect when you are having “one of those days“.

(Will started eating the foods below at 7 months old, but I didn’t get him on a 3 meal a day schedule until he was 8 months old)

Dr. Praegers Broccoli Littles

1) Dr. Praegers Broccoli Littles – Will loves these, and so do I! They are gluten-free, taste great, and take a minute to microwave, or if you really want to go all out, broil them in the toaster oven or heat them on the skillet. I cut them in half, but they are really soft, which is comforting for us moms who worry about choking. Mix it up and try all five flavors!

Annie's Rotini Pasta

2) Annie’s Organic Pasta Meals – Don’t get me wrong, Annie’s Mac n’ Cheese is delicious, but Will has some chubby little fingers, and those slimy, skinny macaroni noodles slip right through. I prefer Annie’s Pasta Meals because there is a better chance that the Penne and Rotini noodles will end up in Will’s mouth rather than on my floor. Cook one box and you’ll have leftovers for days!

Nature's Path Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles

3) Organic Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles – Toast these waffles on low, and pop them in the microwave for 20 seconds to make them nice and soft. Will loves these with a little butter on top.

Vitatops Wild Blueberry

4) VitaTops Wild Blueberry – This was my daily grab-and-go breakfast when I was teaching, and now it’s become a breakfast favorite for Will. These Vitatop muffins come in various flavors, but blueberry seems to be the safest bet for little ones. Just pop one in the microwave for a couple of minutes and you are good-to-go!

amy's black bean veggie burger

5) Amy’s Veggie Burger – I’ve been eating Amy’s veggie burgers for years, so I always clean Will’s plate if he can’t finish. I prefer to cook these on the stove with a little olive oil. They are soft, and almost mushy, which is perfect for a baby.

Alexia Sweet Potato Puffs

7) Alexia Sweet Potato Puffs – These yummy puffs are basically a healthier version of the traditional tater-tot. These puffs, as well as the sweet potato fries have always been a family favorite. I give these to Will as a side dish with a veggie burger, or rotisserie chicken. Just pop them in the oven for 20 minutes, and I know your child will love them!

For pantry snack ideas, check out this

Enhanced by Zemanta