Nurses Bladder

by Julie

pee cartoon

Will and I braved the cold yesterday at 3:00 to visit our best bud, Jen, and check out her new house. Right before I walked out of the door, I thought to myself, “I have to pee, but Will and I are both in our snowsuits with 3 layers underneath, so I’ll just go at Jen’s”.

Around 7:00 p.m, while I was reheating our pre-made dinner, I remembered that I never took that pee at Jen’s house, and I should probably go! Four hours is pretty long to hold it, and this is not the first time this has happened. In fact, it’s become a daily bad habit.

My mom likes to joke and call it nurses bladder, which to my surprise is actually a medical condition called Infrequent Voiding Syndrome. The syndrome occurs when people ignore the urge to pee over many years. The craziest thing about IVS is your bladder stretches and can sometimes hold up to 1,000 ml of urine, that is the same size as one of those large liters of Smart Water!

smart water

Obviously, I’m in no danger of getting this syndrome, but as my husband said, “it can’t be good for you to hold it that long”. Any other mothers experiencing “nurses bladder”?

Enhanced by Zemanta