New Year’s Resolution

by Julie

new years resolution cartoonJust pretend that it’s New Year’s Day, because that’s when I intended to publish this post. My blogging has been a little sporadic lately, and it’s been driving me CRAZY. I’ve been unsuccessfully attempting to blog from my cell phone and Panera, because we have yet to set up internet and cable in our new home. We’ll get there…slowly but surely.

This lack of internet has shed even more light into my obsession overuse of technology. It seems to be the obvious choice for a New Year’s Resolution.

The Stir posted an excellent acronym to use when setting a New Year’s goal:

SMART goals

Check out my New Year’s Resolution using the S.M.A.R.T formula:

Limit internet use to Will’s nap times and bedtime, which is one hour in the morning, one hour in the afternoon and anytime after 6:30 p.m (SPECIFIC AND MEASURABLE) 

This will encourage me to spend more time with Will during his waking hours, but still gives me plenty of opportunities to go online, while he sleeps (ATTAINABLE AND REALISTIC). I would like to do this until Will moves down to one nap a day (TIME-BASED)

Just so there is no cheating, my brother, Jason, created an Internet Time Log on Excel that I will use to track my progress. I simply enter the time spent online into the designated time slot and if I’m online during times that Will is not asleep it turns red, because I’ve been naughty. At the bottom it tallies the total time spent online for that day.

Click: JulieTechTimeLog-1 to see how I already cheated yesterday…0ops! Things are getting serious on Monday.

Stay tuned to see how well I stick to my New Year’s goal!

What is your New Year’s Resolution? Is your resolution specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and time-based?

Enhanced by Zemanta