Babysitters

by Julie

hiring_babysitters_rect

Before Will was born, we planned a vacation to Florida with three other couples. We excitedly discussed all of the fun things we would do, like hire a babysitting service, and go out on the town. It was Billy’s 30th birthday weekend, as well as Craig’s, my friend’s husband.

A couple of months later, Will was born, and I suddenly became very protective, cautious, paranoid, and extremely suspicious of strangers. Luckily, I found a couple of sitters from my hometown who just happen to live in Chicago. Phew. Oh wait, Florida was around the corner, and I had agreed to using a babysitting service. Billy and I seemed to be on the same page. We both were dreading the idea of handing over our child to a complete stranger for one night.

I think I got this distrust of new babysitters from my dad. When my brother and I were little, he paid a babysitter to leave, and brought us to the party they were headed to. He said he took one look at the sitter, and couldn’t stand the thought of leaving us alone with this stranger.

It was time to face my fears. Florida had arrived, and Billy and I convinced ourselves it was going to be ok. “Book the sitter,” I told my friend, Gina. “But I have some questions I want to ask her”.

Gina laughed, “What are you going to do? Interview her?”

Billy and I had a bunch of questions prepared, but we woke up the morning of our “big night out on the town,” and chickened out. We had to pay a fee for canceling, but it was worth it. My little guy was safe in bed, and we had a little house party instead!

How did you find a babysitter you can trust? Have you ever used a babysitting service?