What’s Wrong?

by Julie

mystery-box-hi

Last night, Will & i had one of those nights…

Billy was at a work function, so it was just the two of us. The night was going so smoothly, gave him a bath, went on an evening walk, fed him, and read him Red Truck, although he prefers his Red Ferrari. I put him in his crib, and he feel right asleep…for about five minutes. That’s when the crying started, a painful wailing that I’ve never heard him make before. This was very strange, because this has never been a problem since his sleep training.

Normally, I would just let him cry-it-out, but I was alone, and he was so sad. I picked him up, and went through the checklist (diaper, feed, change his outfit, comfort, pacifier), but the crying continued. “What’s wrong with you, little guy?” I asked him. Panic started to strike, “what should I do?” Last resort, I gave him some children’s tylenol, hoping that maybe he was “teething,” and this would ease the discomfort.

The medicine did the trick and he eventually fell asleep. Have you ever been in a situation where you can’t figure out what’s wrong with your child? How did you unravel this mystery? What was the result?

Until next time, Nurse Julie