Stay-at-Home-Mom

by Julie

stay-at-home-mom cartoon

One day, my brother-in-law asked me, “So, what do you do all day?”

“What do you mean? I take care of Will,” I responded.

If you’ve never stayed home to raise a child, it’s hard to imagine what a mom’s job entails, but I promise we don’t sit in front of the TV all day eating cookies. On the other hand, transitioning from the working world to a stay-at-home mom can be quite a shock. These are some things I’ve learned about how to get out of your PJs and start your day.

1. Set a daily goal. Whether it’s to run an errand, workout, go on a walk, or attend a baby class, you must make yourself get out of the house at least once a day or else the walls with slowly start to close in on you.

2. Don’t be shy. Attending mommy classes can feel like dating. “What’s your name, where are you from, can I get your number, can we hang out soon?” Just remember, everyone is in the same boat.

3. Find a hobby. For me, it’s been blogging, but I know many moms who make jewelry, knit, bake, exercise, read, and so on. Taking care of a baby is challenging, don’t get me wrong, but I really missed the problem-solving and creative aspect that came along with teaching. A hobby is just what I needed : )

4. Don’t watch the clock. You are going to be very tempted to call your husband and ask, “When are you coming home from work?” DON’T DO IT. I find that if you don’t ask, they come home earlier. Right when you are at your breaking point: go on a walk, visit a mommy friend,  hit the park, or run another errand.

5. Save your money. With the constant runs to BuyBuyBaby, Target, and Jewel, you may start to feel like your job is to spend money. My favorite free activities have become the park, mommy groups, going on walks with a friend, and first time trials at baby classes.